Asheville Poetry Review is an annual literary journal that publishes 180–220 pages of poems, interviews, translations, essays, historical perspectives, and book reviews. Since its inception in 1994, Asheville Poetry Review has published over 1800 new and established writers from 22 different countries, including Robert Bly, Patricia Smith, Lawrence Ferlinghetti, Joy Harjo, Gary Snyder, Billy Collins, Yusef Komunyakaa, Eavan Boland, R. S. Thomas, Yevgeny Yevtushenko, Fred Chappell, Ciaran Carson, and Colette Inez. From its first regional issue, Asheville Poetry Review has grown into an international publication with distribution to major bookstores across the U.S. and Canada as well as to many independent bookstores in the U.S. and in several European countries.

We have two submission periods: September 15 – January 15 for the William Matthews Poetry Prize and January 15 – July 15 for regular submissions. All submissions must be sent digitally via Submittable.


The 2024 William Matthews Poetry Prize

Asheville Poetry Review offers a $1,000 prize for a single poem through its annual William Matthews Poetry Prize.

First Prize: $1,000 and publication in Asheville Poetry Review
Second Prize: $250 and publication
Third Prize: Publication

2024 Judge: TBA

The judge will not see any names or other identifying information. All submissions will be considered for publication.

Submit 3 poems in a single file, any style, any subject, any length. Previously published work and translations are not eligible. Simultaneous submissions are accepted, but notify us immediately if a poem is accepted for publication elsewhere.

Deadline: January 15, 2024

Submissions must be sent online through Submittable.

Asheville Poetry Review